A wood stove can provide steady heat, a place to cook, and backup warmth when the power goes out—but the right choice depends on your room size, fuel needs, and installation setup. The options below range from a compact cast-iron stove to larger models rated for spaces up to 1,200 square feet. Compare their stated features carefully, and confirm a model’s current availability, chimney requirements, and local installation rules before you buy.
Table of Contents
Quick Comparison
| Wood Stove | Stated Heating Area | Maximum Log Length | Standout Feature |
|---|---|---|---|
| Comfort Glow Cast Iron Wood Stove | Up to 900 sq. ft. | 22 inches | Cast-iron build and cooking surface |
| US Stove US1100E-L | Up to 1,200 sq. ft. | 18 inches | Up to 68,000 BTUs and removable ash pan |
| GPYFGTZ Cast Carbon Steel Wood Stove | Not stated | Not stated | Dual doors, airwash, and lower log rack |
| Comfort Glow CGWS1500 | Up to 1,200 sq. ft. | 18 inches | Pedestal design and optional blower |
| Ashley Hearth AW1120E-P | Up to 1,200 sq. ft. | 18 inches | Works without electricity and has a removable ash pan |
Our Picks: Best Wood Burning Stoves On The Market reviews
1. Comfort Glow Cast Iron Stove: A Compact Pick With a Cooktop
This cast-iron stove is rated to heat spaces up to 900 square feet, making it the smallest stated heating choice in this group. Its firebox accepts logs up to 22 inches long, which is longer than the listed capacity of the other models with a stated log size.
The flat top adds practical value for a cabin or off-grid setup: it can be used to boil, fry, or warm food. The listing also identifies the stove as EPA certified and gives it a standard 6-inch flue collar. Its two-piece spring handle is designed to stay cooler during use, though you should still follow the stove’s safety instructions.
Cast iron is a sturdy, heat-retaining material, but this model’s stated heating area is more limited than the 1,200-square-foot options below. The supplied listing also indicates that the product may not currently be available, so check its status before planning a purchase.
Pros:
- Rated for spaces up to 900 square feet
- Accepts logs up to 22 inches long
- Cast-iron construction with an integrated cooking surface
- EPA certified, according to the listing
Cons:
- Lower stated heating area than the larger models
- Supplied listing indicates availability may be limited
Verdict: Consider this stove if you want cast iron, a cooking surface, and a compact heating rating, but confirm availability and make sure 900 square feet suits your space.
2. US Stove US1100E-L: A Larger Stove With Flexible Base Options
The US1100E-L is rated to heat up to 1,200 square feet and produce up to 68,000 BTUs. Its 1.3-cubic-foot firebox accepts logs up to 18 inches long. A secondary combustion system is designed to make better use of heat while reducing wood use and emissions without a catalyst.
You can set it up with adjustable legs or a pedestal, giving you a choice of look and base style. The firebrick-lined interior is intended to support combustion and durability, while the cast-iron door has air-washed ceramic glass for a view of the fire. A removable ash pan makes cleanup more direct, although an ash bucket is sold separately.
This is one of the more fully specified choices here, but delivery has an extra step: it ships by freight, and the listing requires a valid phone number or email for delivery coordination. The chimney connector and chimney system are not included. Mobile-home or transportable-building use requires the separately sold fresh-air intake kit and proper installation.
Pros:
- Rated for up to 1,200 square feet and up to 68,000 BTUs
- Includes both adjustable legs and a pedestal base
- Secondary combustion and a firebrick-lined interior
- Removable ash pan and air-washed ceramic glass
Cons:
- Freight delivery requires contact information and coordination
- Chimney system is not included
Verdict: Choose the US1100E-L if you want a larger-capacity stove with a choice of base styles and you are prepared to arrange freight delivery and chimney components.
3. GPYFGTZ Cast Carbon Steel Stove: A Flexible-Access Design
This carbon-steel stove stands out for its front and side loading doors. Having two access points can make it easier to arrange fuel or reach the firebox, depending on where the stove sits in your room. A large viewing window lets you see the fire, and the airwash system is intended to help keep the glass clearer.
The design includes dual-layer air intakes for secondary combustion, vermiculite boards lining the firebox, and a manual flue damper. Its top opening is listed as 15 centimeters and can accommodate cookware such as a kettle. A lower rack uses radiant heat to dry firewood.
The supplied product information does not state a heating-area rating, maximum log length, or EPA certification. That makes it harder to compare directly with the other stoves, which provide clearer capacity details. The listing also indicates that availability may be limited, so verify both the product status and its required installation details before choosing it.
Pros:
- Front and side doors provide two loading options
- Airwash and secondary-air features are designed to support cleaner combustion
- Includes a top opening for cookware and a lower wood-drying rack
- Firebox is lined with vermiculite boards
Cons:
- Heating area and log capacity are not stated in the supplied details
- EPA certification is not specified in the supplied details
Verdict: This model may suit shoppers drawn to dual-door access and its cooking and storage features, but the missing capacity and certification details make careful verification especially important.
4. Comfort Glow CGWS1500: A Pedestal Stove for Medium-Sized Spaces
The CGWS1500 is rated to heat up to 1,200 square feet and accepts logs up to 18 inches long. Its plate-steel body, cast-iron door, and firebrick-lined firebox combine a steel stove body with a fire-resistant interior. A large window provides a view of the flames.
Secondary combustion is listed as part of its clean-burn design. The pedestal base gives it a distinct look, and the stove is described as approved for mobile and modular homes in the United States. An optional blower is available separately for moving heat through a larger area; it is not included with the stove.
Compared with the US Stove and Ashley models, this one has no stated BTU output or firebox volume in the supplied details, so it is harder to compare on those measures. Its listing also indicates that availability may be limited. Check current status and confirm the installation requirements that apply to your home.
Pros:
- Rated to heat up to 1,200 square feet
- Accepts logs up to 18 inches long
- Firebrick-lined firebox and secondary combustion
- Optional blower and stated mobile or modular home approval in the United States
Cons:
- Optional blower is sold separately
- BTU output and firebox volume are not stated in the supplied details
Verdict: Consider the CGWS1500 if you want a pedestal-style stove with a 1,200-square-foot rating, provided you can confirm availability and do not need a listed BTU or firebox-volume figure.
5. Ashley Hearth AW1120E-P: A Practical Choice for Backup Heat
The Ashley AW1120E-P is rated for spaces up to 1,200 square feet and produces up to 68,000 BTUs. Its 1.3-cubic-foot firebox takes logs up to 18 inches long. The stove operates without electricity, which can be useful when you need heat during a power outage or want a non-electric heating option.
Like the US1100E-L, it has secondary combustion, a firebrick-lined interior, an integrated removable ash pan, and an air-washed ceramic-glass window. It includes both adjustable legs and a pedestal base, so you can choose the setup that best fits your room. A 100 CFM circulator blower is available separately and requires electricity.
The stove meets EPA guidelines when burning cordwood, according to the listing. Freight shipping requires a valid phone number, and the 6-inch chimney connector and chimney system are not included. Mobile-home or transportable-building use requires a separately sold fresh-air intake kit. Those delivery and installation needs are worth factoring into your plan.
Pros:
- Rated for up to 1,200 square feet and up to 68,000 BTUs
- Does not require electricity for stove operation
- Includes adjustable legs, a pedestal base, and a removable ash pan
- Secondary combustion and air-washed ceramic glass
Cons:
- Freight delivery requires coordination
- Chimney system and optional blower are not included
Verdict: The Ashley is a strong fit if you want stated 1,200-square-foot capacity and heat that does not depend on electricity, as long as you are ready to arrange freight delivery and the required venting setup.
How to Choose a Wood Burning Stove
Match the stove’s heating rating to your space
Start with the area you want to heat, then compare it with the stove’s stated coverage. Three options here are rated for up to 1,200 square feet, while the cast-iron Comfort Glow is rated for up to 900 square feet. The GPYFGTZ listing does not provide a heating-area figure. Treat these ratings as comparison points, not a promise of even heat in every home; room layout and installation can affect how warmth moves through your space.
Check firebox size and log length
A stove’s maximum log length helps you judge whether the wood you plan to use will fit. The listed models with a stated capacity accept logs up to 18 or 22 inches. The US Stove and Ashley models also list a 1.3-cubic-foot firebox. The GPYFGTZ details do not state a log length, so ask for that information before buying if fuel fit is a key concern.
Understand combustion and certification claims
Some models list secondary combustion, which is designed to make more use of the fuel and reduce emissions. The Comfort Glow cast-iron model is identified as EPA certified, while the US Stove and Ashley listings say they meet EPA guidelines when burning cordwood. Do not assume a stove has a particular certification unless its product information clearly says so. Check the exact model details and local requirements before purchase.
Choose the construction and layout that work for your home
The cast-iron Comfort Glow model emphasizes heat retention and a compact size. The other Comfort Glow model uses plate steel with a cast-iron door, while the US Stove and Ashley options offer a choice between legs and a pedestal. The GPYFGTZ design has front and side doors, which may make loading more convenient depending on where it will sit. Measure your available space and confirm required clearances before settling on a design.
Consider cooking, cleanup, and extra features
If you want to heat food on the stove, the cast-iron Comfort Glow has an integrated flat cooktop, and the GPYFGTZ model has a 15-centimeter top opening for cookware. For ash handling, the US Stove and Ashley models list removable ash pans. Optional blowers are offered for the Ashley and Comfort Glow CGWS1500, but they are sold separately; the Ashley blower requires electricity.
Plan for venting, delivery, and installation
A wood stove needs an appropriate chimney and safe installation. The US Stove listing specifies a standard 6-inch chimney system, not included, and the Ashley listing also says its 6-inch connector and chimney system are not included. Both are freight-shipped, so plan for delivery coordination. Have a qualified professional confirm the chimney setup, clearances, and local code requirements. Special installation conditions may apply to mobile or transportable buildings.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which stove is rated for the largest space?
The US Stove US1100E-L, Ashley Hearth AW1120E-P, and Comfort Glow CGWS1500 are each rated to heat up to 1,200 square feet. The actual result in your home depends on the space and installation.
Which option accepts the longest stated logs?
The Comfort Glow cast-iron stove is listed for logs up to 22 inches. The US Stove, Ashley Hearth, and Comfort Glow CGWS1500 models are listed for logs up to 18 inches. The GPYFGTZ listing does not state a maximum log length.
Can any of these stoves be used for cooking?
The cast-iron Comfort Glow has a flat cooking surface, and the GPYFGTZ has a 15-centimeter top opening listed for cookware. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions and use cookware only as directed.
Which stove can provide heat without electricity?
The Ashley Hearth AW1120E-P listing says the stove itself does not require electricity to operate. Its optional blower does require electricity. The supplied details do not make the same no-electricity claim for every other model.
Do these stoves include a chimney system?
The US Stove and Ashley Hearth listings state that their chimney systems are not included. Check the full product details for each model and confirm the complete venting setup needed for your installation before buying.
Are all five models EPA certified?
No such claim is provided for every model. The cast-iron Comfort Glow is identified as EPA certified, and the US Stove and Ashley listings say they meet EPA guidelines when burning cordwood. The supplied details do not specify EPA certification for the other two options.
Final Recommendation
For a larger space and dependable operation without electricity, the Ashley Hearth AW1120E-P is a well-specified choice, with a 1,200-square-foot rating, up to 68,000 BTUs, and an included choice of base styles. If you want a cooking surface and a longer stated log capacity for a smaller area, consider the cast-iron Comfort Glow—but verify its availability first. Whichever stove you choose, confirm the exact installation requirements, chimney components, and local rules before ordering.