A 24-inch pocket door can free up floor space in a small bathroom, closet, or hallway, but the right frame kit depends on more than door width. Check the door’s height, thickness, and weight, then make sure the kit suits your wall construction and includes the hardware you need. Our top pick is made for a 24-inch door, while several alternatives fit a wider range of door widths or support heavier doors.
Table of Contents
Quick Comparison
| Product | Door size range | Weight capacity | Notable feature |
|---|---|---|---|
| SMARTSTANDARD 24" x 80" Pocket Door Frame Kit | 24" wide x 80" high | Up to 120 lb | Two-way soft-close mechanism |
| JUBEST 24"–36" Pocket Door Frame Kit | 24"–36" wide x 80" high | Up to 220 lb | Two-way soft close; cuttable track and studs |
| VEVOR 24"–36" Pocket Door Frame Kit | 24"–36" wide x 80" high | Not specified | Galvanized steel frame and soft close |
| JUBEST Commercial-Grade Pocket Door Frame Kit | 24"–36" wide x 80" high | Up to 400 lb | Heavy-duty track for a 2×6 stud wall |
| VEVOR 24"–32" Pocket Door Frame Kit | 24"–32" wide x 80" high | Not specified | Two-way soft-close mechanism |
Our Picks: Best 24 Inch Pocket Door Kit reviews
SMARTSTANDARD: A Direct Fit for a 24-Inch Door
The SMARTSTANDARD kit is the most direct match here if you have a 24-inch-wide, 80-inch-tall door. Its galvanized steel frame is designed for corrosion resistance, and its two-way soft-close mechanism is rated for doors up to 120 pounds. The listed door thickness range is 1 to 1¾ inches.
The track can be cut to fit a custom opening, and the kit includes square uprights, an aluminum track with a wood slot, floor guides, anchors, and assembly instructions. The product information also says parts can be replaced after assembly without taking apart the entire frame, which may be useful if a component needs attention later.
This is a practical choice for a standard-size, lighter door when you want soft close without buying a frame sized for a much wider door. One important caveat: the supplied listing information marks this item as unavailable, so confirm its status before making plans around it. Its 120-pound limit is also lower than the capacity stated for the JUBEST options.
Pros:
- Designed specifically for a 24-inch-wide, 80-inch-tall door
- Two-way soft close for doors up to 120 pounds
- Galvanized steel frame and cuttable track
- Parts can be replaced without dismantling the whole frame
Cons:
- Lower stated weight capacity than the JUBEST kits
- Supplied product data lists it as unavailable
Verdict: Choose this kit if your door matches its dimensions and weight limit, but check availability before selecting it for a project.
JUBEST 24–36-Inch Kit: Flexible Sizing and Higher Capacity
This JUBEST frame is listed for doors from 24 to 36 inches wide and up to 80 inches tall. It supports doors up to 220 pounds and includes a two-way soft-close mechanism. The door thickness range is 1 to 1¾ inches, so check that measurement along with the width before ordering.
The kit uses a galvanized steel track and reinforced wood studs. Its track and studs can be cut to fit, and the design allows parts to be replaced after installation without removing the drywall, according to the product details. The package includes two hangers with mounting plates and two soft-close triggers.
For a 24-inch door, the extra width range may be useful if you want flexibility in sizing, but it is not automatically a better fit than a dedicated 24-inch kit. Confirm the instructions specify how to configure the frame for your door size. The higher capacity is useful only if your door needs it; it does not remove the need to confirm the wall and installation requirements.
Pros:
- Fits listed door widths from 24 to 36 inches
- Supports doors up to 220 pounds
- Includes a two-way soft-close mechanism
- Cuttable track and studs allow some size adjustment
Cons:
- Wider size range may require extra care when confirming setup for a 24-inch door
- Door thickness is limited to the listed 1–1¾-inch range
Verdict: This is a strong all-around option if you want soft close, a 24-inch-compatible frame, and more weight capacity than the SMARTSTANDARD kit.
VEVOR 24–36-Inch Kit: A Straightforward Soft-Close Option
The VEVOR kit is designed for doors 24 to 36 inches wide and 80 inches high. It has a galvanized steel frame, a soft-close mechanism, and a track that can be cut to suit different opening sizes. Those features make it a flexible option if your project dimensions do not call for a frame limited to one door width.
The product information describes the frame as suitable for home, office, and commercial spaces and says the package includes installation instructions and necessary accessories. However, it does not state a maximum door weight or a door thickness range. Those are key details, so confirm them with the seller or instructions before pairing the frame with a particular door.
Compared with the JUBEST 24–36-inch kit, this VEVOR option has less published detail about capacity and construction components. That makes it harder to assess for a heavy door or a project with strict fit requirements. It may suit a standard application, but verify the missing specifications rather than assuming they match another kit.
Pros:
- Fits listed door widths from 24 to 36 inches
- Soft-close mechanism included
- Galvanized steel frame and cuttable track
- Installation instructions and accessories are included
Cons:
- Maximum door weight is not specified in the supplied details
- Door thickness range is not specified
Verdict: Consider this VEVOR kit if its dimensions suit your project, but get the weight and thickness limits confirmed before buying.
JUBEST Commercial-Grade Kit: Best for a Heavy Door and 2×6 Wall
This heavy-duty JUBEST kit is designed for a 2×6 stud wall and doors from 24 to 36 inches wide and 80 inches high. Its stated capacity is up to 400 pounds, well above the other kits in this comparison with published weight limits. It accepts doors 1⅛ to 2¼ inches thick, so it can accommodate some doors that are too thick for the standard kits.
The frame uses an I-beam aluminum track, galvanized steel split studs, and ball-bearing hangers. The product details also describe an anti-jump design and a quick-release locking tab for door installation or removal. These features make it the more specialized choice for a heavy or thicker door, rather than the default pick for every 24-inch opening.
Before ordering, make sure your wall is built for this kit: it is specifically listed for a 2×6 stud wall. Its larger weight capacity does not mean it will fit a 2×4 wall or every door style. The supplied details do not mention a soft-close mechanism, so choose another option if that feature is essential.
Pros:
- Supports doors up to 400 pounds
- Fits door widths from 24 to 36 inches
- Accommodates doors 1⅛ to 2¼ inches thick
- Includes an I-beam track and ball-bearing hangers
Cons:
- Designed for a 2×6 stud wall
- Soft close is not listed in the supplied product details
Verdict: Pick this kit for a heavy or thicker door only if your wall construction and door measurements match its requirements.
VEVOR 24–32-Inch Kit: A Narrower Adjustable Range
This VEVOR frame is listed for doors 24 to 32 inches wide and 80 inches high. It includes a two-way soft-close mechanism, a galvanized steel frame, and a track that can be cut to fit different opening sizes. Its narrower width range may be worth considering if you do not need the 36-inch flexibility offered by the other adjustable kits.
The product details say the package includes instructions and necessary accessories, with installation aimed at both professionals and DIY users. They do not provide a maximum door weight or door thickness range. Check those limits before choosing a door, especially if it is unusually heavy or thick.
It shares several key features with the wider VEVOR model, including soft close and a cuttable track. The main difference stated in the product information is the supported width range. Since neither VEVOR description supplies weight and thickness limits, the JUBEST options are easier to evaluate when those measurements are a priority.
Pros:
- Fits listed door widths from 24 to 32 inches
- Two-way soft-close mechanism included
- Galvanized steel construction and cuttable track
- Instructions and necessary accessories are included
Cons:
- Maximum door weight is not specified in the supplied details
- Door thickness range is not specified
Verdict: This is a reasonable fit for a 24-inch door when you want soft close, provided you confirm the door’s weight and thickness limits first.
How to Choose a 24-Inch Pocket Door Kit
Confirm the Door Width and Height
Start with the door itself, not just the opening. A 24-inch door is the direct match for the SMARTSTANDARD kit, while the JUBEST and VEVOR alternatives are listed for broader width ranges that include 24 inches. All five options in this guide are listed for an 80-inch-high door. If your door or opening differs, check the kit’s instructions and product specifications before buying.
Check Door Thickness and Weight
Door thickness affects whether the hangers and frame will fit, while weight affects whether the track and hardware are suitable. The SMARTSTANDARD and standard JUBEST kits list a 1–1¾-inch thickness range; the commercial-grade JUBEST lists 1⅛–2¼ inches. The VEVOR details provided here do not state a thickness range or weight limit, so confirm those figures before choosing either one. Do not exceed a kit’s stated weight capacity.
Match the Frame to Your Wall
The commercial-grade JUBEST kit is specifically described for a 2×6 stud wall. The other product descriptions do not provide the same wall specification in the supplied details. Check the manufacturer’s installation instructions for wall framing requirements, and make sure the pocket cavity can fit the frame, door, and any hardware without interfering with wiring or plumbing.
Decide Whether You Need Soft Close
A soft-close mechanism helps control the door as it opens or closes. The SMARTSTANDARD kit lists a two-way mechanism for doors up to 120 pounds; the standard JUBEST kit lists two-way soft close for doors up to 220 pounds. Both VEVOR kits include soft close, though their supplied descriptions do not state a weight limit. The commercial-grade JUBEST description does not list soft close.
Look at Adjustability and Replacement Parts
A cuttable track can help adapt a kit to a custom opening, but it does not mean every part can be shortened or adjusted in any way. Review the manufacturer’s instructions before cutting components. If future repairs matter to you, note that SMARTSTANDARD and the 24–36-inch JUBEST description say parts can be replaced after installation without removing the drywall.
Plan the Installation Before You Buy
Pocket door work involves opening or building a wall cavity, so measure carefully and review the installation steps before choosing a kit. Check what the package includes, what tools and extra materials you may need, and whether the instructions match your project. If the wall may contain electrical wiring, plumbing, or structural framing, resolve those issues before installation begins.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does a 24-inch pocket door kit include?
Contents vary by model. The kits described here include frame components and track, with some also listing hangers, floor guides, anchors, soft-close parts, screws, and instructions. Check the exact package contents before ordering so you know what else your project may require.
Can I use a 24–36-inch kit with a 24-inch door?
The JUBEST and VEVOR product details list door ranges that begin at 24 inches. Confirm the manufacturer’s instructions for setting up the frame at that width, and verify that your door’s height, thickness, and weight are also within the kit’s limits.
Do all of these kits include soft close?
No. Soft close is listed for the SMARTSTANDARD kit, the standard JUBEST kit, and both VEVOR kits. It is not listed in the supplied details for the commercial-grade JUBEST model.
Which kit supports the heaviest door?
The commercial-grade JUBEST kit has the highest stated capacity in this group, up to 400 pounds. It is designed for a 2×6 stud wall and accepts doors 1⅛ to 2¼ inches thick. Confirm that both the wall and door match before choosing it.
Do the VEVOR kits have a stated weight limit?
The supplied product information does not give a maximum door weight for either VEVOR kit. Ask the seller or consult the product instructions for the limit before installing a heavy door.
Can a pocket door track be cut to size?
The product details say the tracks for the SMARTSTANDARD and several other listed kits can be cut to fit. Follow the specific instructions for your model, since cutting the track may not be the same as changing the frame’s full width or height.
Final Recommendation
For a standard 24-inch-wide door, the SMARTSTANDARD kit is the most direct size match and includes two-way soft close, but its supplied listing information marks it as unavailable and its capacity is limited to 120 pounds. If you want a broader size range and a stated capacity up to 220 pounds, the JUBEST 24–36-inch kit is the most balanced alternative. For heavier doors, the commercial-grade JUBEST is the specialist choice, as long as your project uses a 2×6 stud wall. With any kit, confirm the door’s exact dimensions and weight before ordering.