Product reviewDoors, Windows & Floors

Best Wooden Screen Door With Dog Door: Top Picks Compared

Updated 10 min read

Reader-supported: when you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more.

A wooden screen door with a built-in pet flap can let your dog move between the house and yard while you enjoy fresh air. The best choice depends on your doorway measurements, your pet’s size, and whether you want to supply the hinges and latch or have hardware included. These four options use pine frames, but they differ in door width, flap details, finish, and installation requirements.

Quick Comparison

ProductDoor SizePet-Door DetailsNotable Consideration
AINLARRY 36 x 80-Inch Wooden Screen Door36 x 80 inchesBuilt-in flap; listed for dogs up to 120 poundsHinges and latch sold separately
JUJUBON 36 x 80-Inch Pine Pet Screen Door36 x 80 inchesBuilt-in door listed for dogs under 120 poundsUnfinished pine can be painted or stained
CRUTOP 32 x 80-Inch Wooden Screen Door32 x 80 inches10 5/8 x 17-inch flap for cats and small petsIncludes soft-close hinges and lock hardware
AINLARRY 30 x 80-Inch Pine Screen Door30 x 80 inchesBuilt-in door listed for dogs under 120 pounds and under 25 inches at the shoulderSmaller slab width; described as sanded and primed

Our Picks: Best Wooden Screen Door With Dog Door reviews

AINLARRY 36 x 80-Inch Door: A Wide Slab for Larger Pets

This AINLARRY model pairs a 36-by-80-inch solid pine frame with a built-in pet flap. The product description lists the flap for dogs up to 120 pounds and says it can also suit cats. Its mesh is described as pet-proof and tear-resistant, while the gray flap is described as heat- and tear-resistant.

The unfinished wood gives you the option to paint or stain the door to suit your entryway. The slab is 1.38 inches thick. For fit, the listed opening measurements are 38 by 81.5 inches without a jamb or 36.25 by 80.5 inches with a jamb. Measure your opening carefully and compare it with the slab and installation requirements before ordering.

One key trade-off is that this is a door slab only: the hinges and latch are sold separately. That may suit you if you already have compatible hardware or want to choose your own, but it adds a step to planning the installation. The product description also calls installation no-drill, so check the setup details against your doorway and hardware needs.

Pros:

  • 36-inch-wide slab for openings that suit this size
  • Built-in pet flap listed for dogs up to 120 pounds
  • Solid pine frame with unfinished wood for custom paint or stain
  • Mesh is described as pet-proof and tear-resistant

Cons:

  • Hinges and latch are not included
  • Pet-flap dimensions are not specified in the supplied product details

Verdict: Choose this AINLARRY if you need a 36-inch slab, want a customizable pine finish, and are prepared to source the hinges and latch separately.

JUJUBON 36 x 80-Inch Door: An Unfinished Pine Option

The JUJUBON is another 36-by-80-inch solid pine screen door with a built-in pet opening. Its product description lists the flap for dogs under 120 pounds and describes the mesh as reinforced and breathable. The unfinished wood grain is intended to accept paint or stain, which gives you room to coordinate the door with your home.

The listed slab thickness is 1.38 inches. The product details give opening measurements of 38 by 81.5 inches without a jamb and 36.3 by 81 inches with a jamb. These measurements are close to, but not identical to, those listed for the AINLARRY 36-inch option, so use the JUJUBON dimensions when checking your own doorway.

The listing describes a complete hardware kit, but the supplied details do not spell out each hardware item. Confirm exactly what is included before planning installation. This door may be a good fit for someone who wants a standard-width pine slab and a finish they can customize, but the unclear hardware list is worth resolving first.

Pros:

  • 36-by-80-inch solid pine slab with a built-in pet door
  • Unfinished surface can be painted or stained
  • Mesh is described as breathable and reinforced
  • Product listing describes a hardware kit

Cons:

  • The supplied details do not identify each included hardware component
  • Pet-flap dimensions are not specified

Verdict: Consider the JUJUBON if its listed opening measurements match your doorway and you want unfinished pine, but verify the hardware contents before buying.

CRUTOP 32 x 80-Inch Door: A Smaller Flap and Included Hardware

The CRUTOP has a narrower 32-by-80-inch pine slab and a stated flap size of 10 5/8 by 17 inches. Its product description presents the opening as suited to cats and small pets, making it a different kind of choice from the two 36-inch models that list dog weights up to 120 pounds.

This model stands out for its included soft-close hinges and lock hardware, which the listing says come with the door. Its specified opening sizes are 34 by 81.5 inches without a jamb and 32.3 by 81 inches with a jamb. The product description also notes that basic tools and installation steps are needed, so plan for a standard hands-on setup rather than assuming it is hardware-free.

The mesh is intended to allow airflow, and the pine frame is described as suitable for both interior and exterior use. Still, the narrower slab and smaller flap make it important to check both the doorway and your pet’s measurements. The listing does not provide a dog weight limit for this model.

Pros:

  • Includes soft-close hinges and lock hardware, according to the listing
  • Specific flap dimensions help with pet-size checks
  • 32-inch slab may suit a narrower opening
  • Described for interior and exterior use

Cons:

  • Its smaller flap is aimed at cats and small pets, not larger dogs
  • Requires checking the supplied opening measurements and installation needs

Verdict: Pick the CRUTOP if you have a 32-inch doorway and need a flap for a cat or small pet, especially if the included hinges and lock fit your setup.

AINLARRY 30 x 80-Inch Door: A Narrower Slab for a Dog Flap

This 30-by-80-inch AINLARRY model is the narrowest dog-door option in this group. Its solid pine slab is 1.38 inches thick, and the product description lists the integrated pet door for dogs under 120 pounds and under 25 inches at the shoulder. Those limits are useful starting points, but your dog’s body measurements and the flap opening should also be checked before purchase.

The listed doorway measurements are 32 by 81.5 inches without a jamb and 30.3 by 81 inches with a jamb. The listing describes the mesh as high-density and breathable, and says the wood is sanded and primed so it can be used as-is or customized with paint or stain. A six-month door warranty is also stated in the supplied details.

Compared with the 36-inch models, this slab is a better match for a narrower opening, but it may not suit a doorway that needs a wider door. The product details do not specify whether hinges and latch hardware are included, so check the listing before choosing it for a project that depends on supplied hardware.

Pros:

  • 30-inch slab suits openings that are too narrow for a 36-inch door
  • Dog-door limits are given by both weight and shoulder height
  • Described as sanded and primed for use or further customization
  • Product description states a six-month door warranty

Cons:

  • Does not provide pet-flap dimensions in the supplied details
  • Hardware inclusion is not clearly specified

Verdict: Choose this AINLARRY if your opening calls for a 30-inch slab and your dog falls within the listed weight and shoulder-height limits.

How to Choose a Wooden Screen Door With a Dog Door

Measure the Door Slab and the Opening

Do not choose a door by its nominal width alone. Measure the doorway at several points and compare your results with the product’s listed slab size and opening requirements. Check whether your measurements are taken with or without a jamb, since the listed fit dimensions differ. Also confirm the slab thickness and leave room for the hinges and latch you plan to use.

Match the Pet Flap to Your Animal

A stated weight limit does not tell you everything about fit. Check the flap’s height and width when those dimensions are provided, then compare them with your pet’s body size and how it moves through an opening. The CRUTOP lists a 10 5/8-by-17-inch flap for cats and small pets. The other listings give weight limits, and one also gives a shoulder-height limit, but their supplied details do not state flap measurements.

Check What Hardware Comes With the Door

Installation hardware can change the total work involved. The first AINLARRY model clearly says its hinges and latch are sold separately. CRUTOP lists soft-close hinges and lock hardware as included. JUJUBON describes a hardware kit without detailing each part, while the 30-inch AINLARRY details do not clearly say what hardware is supplied. Confirm these points before ordering so you can plan for any additional parts.

Think About Wood Finish and Upkeep

Unfinished pine gives you the option to choose a paint or stain, but it also means you may need to complete that work before installation. The 30-inch AINLARRY is described as sanded and primed, while the other AINLARRY and JUJUBON models are described as unfinished. Follow the product’s care instructions and consider how the door’s location may affect its finish over time.

Consider Where You Will Install It

These doors are described for uses such as entryways, patios, porches, and indoor openings, but check that the product’s intended use fits your location. For an exterior doorway, consider exposure to weather and how you will protect the wood. For interior use, make sure the slab, pet flap, and any included hardware work with the opening and nearby doors or trim.

Plan for Mesh and Pet Use

Mesh lets air pass through while acting as a screen, but the supplied product details do not establish that any of these doors will resist every pet’s chewing or scratching. The first AINLARRY describes its mesh as pet-proof and tear-resistant, and the other listings also describe reinforced or high-density mesh. If your pet tends to claw or push through screens, weigh those claims against your pet’s behavior and the product’s construction details.

Frequently Asked Questions

What size wooden screen door should I buy?

Measure your actual doorway and compare it with the slab dimensions and opening measurements listed for the specific model. The products here come in 30-, 32-, and 36-inch widths, and their fit requirements vary. Do not assume that doors with the same nominal size use identical opening dimensions.

Which option is best for a large dog?

The two 36-inch models and the 30-inch AINLARRY list dog limits up to 120 pounds. The 30-inch AINLARRY also lists a shoulder-height limit under 25 inches. Check your dog’s measurements and the flap dimensions before choosing, since weight limits alone do not confirm that the opening will be comfortable to use.

Is the CRUTOP suitable for a large dog?

The CRUTOP is described as having a 10 5/8-by-17-inch flap intended for cats and small pets. Its product details do not provide a dog weight limit, so it is a more appropriate option to consider for a cat or small pet than for a large dog.

Do these doors include hinges and a latch?

The CRUTOP listing says it includes soft-close hinges and lock hardware. The first AINLARRY model says hinges and latch are sold separately. The JUJUBON listing mentions a hardware kit but does not identify each item in the supplied details, and hardware inclusion is not clearly specified for the 30-inch AINLARRY.

Can I paint or stain these wooden screen doors?

The first AINLARRY and JUJUBON models are described as unfinished and suitable for paint or stain. The 30-inch AINLARRY is described as sanded and primed for use as-is or customization. Check the product instructions before applying a finish.

Are these doors ready for a weather-exposed entry?

The listings describe some models for exterior use and mention weather resistance or wood intended to resist warping, but the supplied details do not establish that any model is maintenance-free. Check the manufacturer’s instructions for appropriate placement, finish, and care, especially if the door will be exposed to the elements.

Final Recommendation

For a typical 36-inch opening and a larger dog, the AINLARRY 36-by-80-inch model is a strong place to start because it lists a pet-flap capacity up to 120 pounds and offers a customizable pine frame. Be ready to buy hinges and a latch separately. If your priority is included hinge and lock hardware for a smaller pet, consider the CRUTOP 32-inch model instead. In every case, confirm the opening dimensions, flap fit, and hardware details before ordering.

Rate this post
Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top